Club NewsMatch ReviewTransfer

Chelsea Squad Revealed For The Super Cup Tie Vs Villarreal As Deadline To Register Romelu Lukaku Is Confirmed

Chelsea have names their 26-man squad for the UEFA Super Cup clash against Villarreal, although the European champions will still have an opportunity to register Romelu Lukaku for the game if his move from Inter Milan is completed within the next 48 hours.

The west London club named their matchday squad for the encounter on Sunday, but amendments can be made up until 11pm on Tuesday night if the 28-year-old striker can be registered on time.

It is understood that the Blues have reach agreement of £98million with Inter for the Belgian forward and he is set to undergo a medical in home town on Sunday.

See also  See When Chelsea Would Unveil New Signing As Tuchel Want Lukaku And Kounde Before Super Cup Shutdown

That would then allow Chelsea to officialize the move for the powerful frontman on Monday and register him for their first game of the season, which will be hold in Belfast, two days later.

According to The UEFA regulations, which stated that players can be included in the matchday squad up to 11pm on the previous evening for the encounter.

See also  See Mount And Silva Lovely Message To Blues Fans After Return To Cobham Ahead Of Spurs And Villarreal Clash

As a result of that Lukaku, who is on brink of returning to Stamford Bridge seven years after leaving the club for Everton on a permanent basis, could be involved against the Europa League holders on Wednesday evening.

Concerning the squad that will trip to Belfast to take on Villarreal, Mason Mount, Reece James, Ben Chilwell, Thiago Silva, Jorginho and Emerson, who only returned on Monday for pre-season training has been included in the 26-man that will lock horns with La-liga giants on Wednesday evening.

See also  Chelsea Possible Lineup Vs Arsenal Revealed As Kante Havertz Mount And Lukaku Make Starting Lineup

Goalkeepers: Edouard Mendy, Kepa, Marcus Bettinelli, Lucas Bergstrom

Defenders: Reece James, Cesar Azpilicueta, Andreas Christensen, Thiago Silva, Kurt Zouma, Ethan Ampadu, Antonio Rudiger, Ben Chilwell, Marcos Alonso, Emerson

Midfielders: N’Golo Kante, Jorginho, Mateo Kovacic, Mason Mount, Tino Anjorin

Attackers: Christian Pulisic, Hakim Ziyech, Callum Hudson-Odoi, Kai Havertz, Timo Werner, Tammy Abraham, Armando Broja

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button